Artful Tailor 0n AppleMac

Hi Jim,

I have been interested in creating scenes in Daz with clothing that drapes realistically on a character for some time… I came across Artful Physics / Artful Tailor while doing a search for more info on use of dforce in Daz. It is exciting to find a software like Artful Physics Tailor that could solve my issues with what I’m trying to create - I’m an artist and plan to create renders that can used as reference for my work…

Would Artful Physics tools work on my system - The system I have is a MacPro (early 2009)
2.66 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon.
Memory 16 GB 1066 MHz DDR3 ECC
NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 512 MB

If so, I’m keen to become a patreon and contribute ideas, follow discussions…

KR,

Clive :star_struck:

Hey Clive,

I’m pretty sure since the nVidia GeForce GT 120 supports only up to openGL 3.3 and openCL 1.0 Artful Physics Tailor will not work on it.

What you need is a GPU that supports openGL 4.0 and openCL 1.2 at a minimum. As an example I bought an HP 8470P Elitebook on eBay for $50 that can support openGL 4.0 and openCL 1.2 and what I have is basically the minimum hardware specs for AT. It is a 3rd generation Intel CPU with Intel HD Graphics 4000. The alternative is to find a 3rd Gen Intel Desktop and add an old nVidia or AMD discrete GPU that supports at least openGL 4.0 and openCL 1.2.

Good luck.

Hi John,

Thanks for info - I’ll need to look at a new GPU… Will be watching Artful Tailor with interest till i can get sorted…:sob:

This topic does such a great job of summarizing why I am not currently releasing Mac support - and how I could be encouraged to do so. I still do test the code on Mac periodically and it still works - all hail Unity’s multi-platform support! I’m extremely glad to have John as a user pushing the envelope of low-end GPUs, but I don’t want to put anyone in a more difficult position than he is.